News & Media

Find all the latest news and developments going on at the club both on-the-water and off-the-water from racing information, member news, committee developments, picture and video galleries to social events. Frensham Pond also has its own very 'local' weather forecasting service so if you want to know the wind speed, whether it’s frozen or if you can pick up a tan …it’s all here

  • IMG_19891.jpg
  • P1000797r.JPG
  • p1010265.jpg
  • p1010430.jpg
  • p1010512.jpg
  • P1030690.JPG
  • P1030711.JPG
  • P1030717.JPG
  • P1030805.JPG
  • P1030838.JPG
  • P1030866.JPG
  • P1030878.JPG
  • P1030879.JPG
  • RS100.jpg
  • Tera 2014.JPG

Whitehouse and Bremer win the Frensham 5

The Frensham 5 comprises 10 races run over 5 weekends between February and April, with the best 5 results being counted. It is a way for all Lark sailors within striking distance of Frensham to enjoy some winter class racing and – for those needing early-season practice – to gets lots of mark-rounding and shift-spotting practice.

The 2012 series was contested in predominantly light winds, reflecting the mild start to the season. Visiting sailors Chris Whitehouse and Ellie Bremer convincingly won four out of the first eight races, but going into the final weekend, Chris Ellis and Natalie Hawes could still have won overall if they had won the last 2 races. Unfortunately for them, Andy and Ben Shorrock re-appeared on the scene to score two bullets. This left Whitehouse and Bremer as worthy winners of the series for the first time, with Chris Ellis and his crews (Natalie Hawes & Ed Cummings) second and the Witneys third.

1st Chris Whitehouse & Ellie Bremer
2nd Chris Ellis & Natalie Hawes/Ed Cummings
3rd Phil and Linda Witney
4th Nigel Hufton & various crews

Full results are here

We hope to see you all (and more) next year

May Knott Trophy

Congratulations to Graham Howlett who today won the May Knott Trophy.


Rank Dinghy Sail No Helm Handicap Points Pursuit Points Total Points
1 Laser 193251 Graham Howlett 2 2 4
2 Solo 3920 Alan Bird 1 4 5
3 Rooster 8.1 367 Colin Hammond 4 3 7
4 Cadet 9032 Megan Ferguson 7 5 12
  Solo 4369 Keith Videlo 10 1 11
  RS200 37 Katrina Gilbert 3 10 13
  Enterprise 17834 Harry Stratton-Brown 5 10 15
  Solo 2318 Martin Kemp 6 10 16
  RS100 3 Clive Eplett 10 10 20

Solo Open Meeting - 29th April 2012

It was wild and windy for the 33rd Solo Open at Frensham Pond. The Pond is renowned for its shifting winds and it lived up to its reputation as the four races were held in very different conditions. Only eleven sailors entered the event, of which five were visitors; but this was not surprising given the overnight gales and driving rain.

Race Officer Jeremy Hudson got all races underway promptly choosing a short start line in each case and with the pin end close to the shore.

Race one started amid huge gusts and white crests topping the chop. It was also very cold and wet. Home club, and former National Solo Champion, Keith Videlo is at home in these conditions and he ran out an easy winner ahead of Frensham's Solo Fleet Captain, Simon Lomas-Clarke. Videlo didn't have it all his own way in the second race, as a capsize and a penalty turn cost him dearly and Hamble River SC’ James Ross took the honours.

During the short break for lunch the wind shifted 90 degrees to the south and it became much warmer and the wind died away. Keith Videlo didn't hang around and he led from start to finish and won by a massive margin. The wind freshened in the last race and squalls and shifts were frequent. Frensham's Tim Deacon sailed well and hung on to win the race from a closing Keith Videlo.

Frensham's Commodore, Jeff Dolton, presented the prizes and thanked all those who had turned up and braved the conditions. Thanks also went to Frensham's Fleet Captain for organising the day, the race team for their fortitude and the galley crew for feeding cold, wet and hungry sailors.

Results of the Frensham Pond Open Meeting

1st 4369 Frensham Pond Keith Videlo
2nd 5129 Frensham Pond Tim Deacon
3rd 5281 Hamble River SC James Ross
4th 4800 Frensham Pond Simon Lomas-Clarke
5th 5167 Chipstead SC Peter Curl
6th 4400 Spinnaker SC Jonathan Moon
7th 4670 Frensham Pond James Hewitt
8th 3061 Chipstead SC Robert Trend
9th 4120 Chipstead SC Andrew Thompson
10th 5083 Frensham Pond Jeff Dolton
11th 3746 Frensham Pond Graham Douglas


May Knott Trophy – Monday 7th May 2012

Don’t forget that the races on bank holiday Monday are for the May Knott Trophy.

The trophy was presented in 1982 by C.Draper for the May Day Holiday Racing. There are two races, a handicap race starting at 11:30am and a pursuit race with the first boat start at 1:27pm.

The trophy will be awarded at the Winter prize-giving on 9th June 2012.

Cadet Open Meeting – 21st April 2012

Sunshine and showers and a breeze that varied in direction through the day from zero to eight knots. All this was tackled cheerfully by 44 entrants to the Frensham annual Cadet open. Seven different sailing clubs took part of which fifteen crews were visitors. The four race series went largely without a hitch despite a complete failure of the breeze for parts of the third race.

A definite group of front runners dominated the day regardless of conditions. In particular a tight contest was fought out between Matt Shorrock and Ryan Wilkinson of Frensham and Alex Corby and Robert Keen of Fishers Green SC. The final race concluded in a tie break both crews being level on points. The trophy though went to Alex and Robert who had one more first place. The wind shifts tended to favour the crews from inland waters and though the fleet was well spread out the standard of sailing was good from boat handling to tactical moves which did not always work.

After the final race Alex said. “It’s been a good days sailing and the race officer did a good job. It was tight racing right to the end.”

At the prize giving Frensham Commodore Jeff Dolton thanked all who had travelled distances to be at the event. He gave special praise to Andy and Kate Shorrock who had done such a fine job as Cadet class leaders for the last four years. Special thanks went to race officer Chris Ellis for setting the courses for four races in difficult conditions and a special vote of thanks to galley manager Sala for feeding all eighty eight competitors and a huge following of families and friends. Safety, important in such a contest, was well organised by Iain Philpott and his team though no incidents occurred.


1st: 9000 Alex Corby & Robert Keen – Fishers Green 
2nd: 8352 Matthew Shorrock & Ryan Wilkinson – Frensham 
3rd: 9390 Alex Philpott & Megan Ferguson – Frensham 
4th: 8513 Jack Hardie & Archie Somers Frensham 
5th: 9754 Ollie Fitzgerald & Laura Hardie – Frensham 
1st girl: 8415 Joise Gummer - Fishers Green 
Under 14: Ben Shorrock & Beatrice Sexton – Frensham 
Endeavour: Emily Lawrence & Jessica Pearson – Frensham 
Unlucky 13th: 9208: Sam Wrankmore & Toby Slump – Frensham