Welcome to Frensham Pond Sailing Club. Based on a beautiful lake in South West Surrey, the club welcomes new members, both experienced sailors and those wishing to learn. If you would like to find out more, please look further at our website or why not take the opportunity to visit and talk with the club manager or the clubs members. Frensham Pond is a club for all ages, all abilities and all seasons.

  • 2012.08.JPG
  • p1010265.jpg
  • p1010430.jpg
  • p1010512.jpg
  • P1030690.JPG
  • P1030711.JPG
  • P1030717.JPG
  • P1030805.JPG
  • P1030838.JPG
  • P1030866.JPG
  • P1030878.JPG
  • P1030879.JPG
  • RS100.jpg
  • Tera 2014.JPG

GP14 Open Meeting 2012

Seven visitors from the Southern Travellers circuit joined ten local boats for the annual Frensham Pond GP14 open on Sunday 14th October which was shared with the Enterprises. Faced with mist on the lake and ice on the boats Race Officer Keith Videlo kept both fleets in the clubhouse until a 5 to 10 knot Northerly blew away the mist resulting in glorious blue sky light weather racing. Richard Lord and Norman Brown led the fleet away from a port biased line followed by Steve Cooper and Eugene Shrimpton-Phoenix from BTYC and Nick Clibborn from the home club. These positions were maintained for lap one after which Lord and Cooper extended their lead with James Ward / Richard Whitehill of Papercourt SC coming through to third and David Innes /Jon Denyer from Frensham in fourth these positions being maintained until the finish.

The second and third races were run back to back after lunch. In race 2 Cooper lead of the line with Lord following and Bryan Taylor from Frensham Pond and Ben Kaplan from Seahorse coming into the fray in the shifty conditions. Lord and Taylor overtook Cooper with Kaplan coming into third just before the finish. With Lord retiring to the clubhouse with two firsts the third race commenced in similar conditions with Helen Allen of BTYC, Andy Wadsworth of BTYC and Brian Taylor of the line fast. The whole fleet appeared to arrive at the windward mark together spreading out on the run down to the first leeward mark. Those gybing to the right picked up a breeze. At the end of the first lap Wadsworth led from Taylor, Innes and Ward and with the wind becoming variable both in direction and strength positions changed regularly. Taylor took the bullet from Wadsworth and Ward with Innes taking fourth .

Final positions

  1. Richard Lord and Norman Brown Seahorse SC
  2. Bryan Taylor and son Frensham Pond SC
  3. Stephen Cooper and Eugene Shrimpton-Phoenix BTYC
  4. James Ward and Richard Whitehill Papercourt SC

Enterprise Open Meeting 2012

The last of the SE Area Enterprise meetings on 14th October saw Frensham at its picturesque best at 11:00 with mist rising from still water but the race officer Keith Videlo’s delay of 1 hour was timed beautifully as the wind filled in from the north west.

During the day the light wind held up with shifts beyond westerly, especially under the large clouds, making for interesting tactical racing with some planing but never taxing even with 19 Enterprises and 17 GP14s. All races were dominated by the visiting trio of David and John Beaney, Ann Jackson/Alan Skeens and Martin and Laurence Davies showing their prowess at roll tacking. The nearest to challenge in the 3 races were Nick Carr/Nick Stevens, Phil Chambers/Chris Parker and Colin Gilbert/Andy Majury with local boat, Colin Gilbert/Andy Majury, taking 4th overall just pipping Alex and Ian Johnson on a tie-break.

David and John Beaney’s place in the Thames Valley Bowl was already secure but the 1st also gave them the Frensham Packard Cup and the South East Area Championship.

It was such a lovely day that few were in a hurry to leave and 14 entered the last race before a convivial tea with the prize giving by Jeff Dolton aided by Bob and Paul Southworth.

Position Helm Crew Sail No. Club
1 David Beaney John Beaney 20234 Castaways
2 Ann Jackson Alan Skeens 22933 Burghfield SC
3 Martin Davies Laurence Davies 22320 Rugby & Daventry SC
4 Colin Gilbert  Andy Majury 21836  FPSC
5 Alex Johnson Ian Johnson 23168  FPSC
6 Philip Chambers Chris Parker 23218  Hampton SC
7 David Hodgson Steve Bell 23243 Papercourt SC
8  Dick Lankaster Jo Lancaster 22866  Weirwood SC
9 Nick Carr Nick Stevens 22870  FPSC
10 Roger Carter David Pite  19510  FPSC
11 John Haine  Joao Rocha 9414  FPSC
12 Jeremy Whiting Elenor Priestnall 21107  London Corinthian SC
13 Richard Best  Suze Watling  20819 FPSC
14 Mark Cropper  Erika Cropper 18555 FPSC
15 Liz St. Clair-Legge Peter Hallett 23273 London Corinthian SC
16 Roger Miller  Andrew Todd 22625  FPSC
17 Bob Boyd Mary Boyd  1049  FPSC
18 Sylvia Rhodes Carol Craig 17968  FPSC
19 Trevor Hallifax Daniel Hallifax 12293  FPSC






Club Class Championships - Sunday, 28 October 2012

The summer season is nearly over which means that it’s time for the traditional end of summer season Club Class Championships.

For those of you who have never done this event before, it is a one-day, three race event for the honour of being crowned your class champion. The racing is slightly different from normal, in that a committee boat is used to start and finish the races rather that the standard club lines, although the courses will be similar to normal.

Depending how many boats of each class turn out, there will probably be three starts at 5-minute intervals, something like this:

  • Start 1 Laser and General Handicap
  • Start 2 GP14 and Enterprise
  • Start 3 Solo and 2.4 mR

If Cadets wish to sail this event then a fourth start may be added.

Frensham Pond Sailing Club Personality of the Year

It’s that time of the year again when you have the chance to nominate your personality of the year.

The trophy is awarded annually to a club member nominated by the membership for:

  • Commitment
  • Enthusiasm
  • Determination
  • Good Sportsmanship
  • Dedication
  • Contribution towards the Sport
  • Promoting and helping others to maintain the love of sailing

Nominations for this year's award are requested by Friday, 30th November 2012 to the Commodore, Jeff Dolton, together with a brief citation giving the reasons for the nomination.

Nominations can be made via email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or via nomination forms available in the clubhouse.

The Flag Of?cers will consider each nomination and the winner will be announced by the Commodore during the Gala Dinner on Friday, 7th December 2012.

Forthcoming Events

Race Programme