Welcome to Frensham Pond Sailing Club. Based on a beautiful lake in South West Surrey, the club welcomes new members, both experienced sailors and those wishing to learn. If you would like to find out more, please look further at our website or why not take the opportunity to visit and talk with the club manager or the clubs members. Frensham Pond is a club for all ages, all abilities and all seasons.

  • 2012.08.JPG
  • IMG_19891.jpg
  • p1010265.jpg
  • p1010430.jpg
  • p1010512.jpg
  • P1030690.JPG
  • P1030711.JPG
  • P1030717.JPG
  • P1030805.JPG
  • P1030838.JPG
  • P1030866.JPG
  • P1030878.JPG
  • P1030879.JPG
  • RS100.jpg
  • Tera 2014.JPG

2.4mR Open Meeting - Saturday-Sunday 19th-20th May.

The two day event for 2.4 mini-keelboats was gifted by two extremes of Frensham weather. Twenty boats took part. The six race series was due to start with two races back-to-back on Saturday afternoon. Untypical of this spring the weather was warm and sunny with almost no wind. In the end only one race was sailed and won by Frensham’s Richard Smallwood, with Myron Prosser, also Frensham second. The trophy holder Megan Pascoe was third.

Day Two was a complete contrast. A strong but cold north wind swept over the lake with some severe gusts. Three races were sailed in the morning session to make up for the one lost on Saturday. The sailing was exciting and exhilarating. With the wind northerly the course was set with short legs across the Eastern end of the lake. This kept the fleet tightly bunched at times with lots of close racing to windward. The contrast in conditions meant a return to the expected form. Visiting sailor and seven times winner, Megan Pascoe took charge of the event with four straight wins. This more than enough to retain the Frensham Trophy and Megan was able to sit out the last race. Megan Pascoe is one of Great Britain’s outstanding disabled sailors and only narrowly missed out on Paralympic selection this time. After the race she said. ‘I love coming to Frensham. It’s never easy to sail here. You have to be alert and leave nothing to chance.’ Megan paid special tribute to race officer, Dan Shaw. ‘He always sets brilliant courses. I think he’s one of the finest race officers anywhere.’

The day ended with the famous Frensham free tea with a great spread of food. Club Vice-Commodore Neil Hardie presented the prizes including a special award to Andrew Farrow from New Forest SC who in his first sail in a 2.4 coped well in the conditions. He presented Megan Pascoe with the cup noting that this is the seventh time she had taken part and won.

Results. 1st: Megan Pascoe – Weymouth & Portland. 2nd: Richard Smallwood – Frensham. 3rd: Paul Holzherr – Frensham.

Report by Jim Morley

Solution Dinghy

Ovington Boats have loaned the Club a Solution Dinghy for a period of six weeks. If you would like to give the Solution a try then please contact Jeff Dolton on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The Solution Dinghy: specification

Length 3.92m
Beam 1.75m
Hull weight 57kg
Sail area 8.5m
Foam sandwich Epoxy
PY 1074

Whitehouse and Bremer win the Frensham 5

The Frensham 5 comprises 10 races run over 5 weekends between February and April, with the best 5 results being counted. It is a way for all Lark sailors within striking distance of Frensham to enjoy some winter class racing and – for those needing early-season practice – to gets lots of mark-rounding and shift-spotting practice.

The 2012 series was contested in predominantly light winds, reflecting the mild start to the season. Visiting sailors Chris Whitehouse and Ellie Bremer convincingly won four out of the first eight races, but going into the final weekend, Chris Ellis and Natalie Hawes could still have won overall if they had won the last 2 races. Unfortunately for them, Andy and Ben Shorrock re-appeared on the scene to score two bullets. This left Whitehouse and Bremer as worthy winners of the series for the first time, with Chris Ellis and his crews (Natalie Hawes & Ed Cummings) second and the Witneys third.

1st Chris Whitehouse & Ellie Bremer
2nd Chris Ellis & Natalie Hawes/Ed Cummings
3rd Phil and Linda Witney
4th Nigel Hufton & various crews

Full results are here

We hope to see you all (and more) next year

May Knott Trophy

Congratulations to Graham Howlett who today won the May Knott Trophy.


Rank Dinghy Sail No Helm Handicap Points Pursuit Points Total Points
1 Laser 193251 Graham Howlett 2 2 4
2 Solo 3920 Alan Bird 1 4 5
3 Rooster 8.1 367 Colin Hammond 4 3 7
4 Cadet 9032 Megan Ferguson 7 5 12
  Solo 4369 Keith Videlo 10 1 11
  RS200 37 Katrina Gilbert 3 10 13
  Enterprise 17834 Harry Stratton-Brown 5 10 15
  Solo 2318 Martin Kemp 6 10 16
  RS100 3 Clive Eplett 10 10 20

Forthcoming Events

Race Programme