Welcome to Frensham Pond Sailing Club. Based on a beautiful lake in South West Surrey, the club welcomes new members, both experienced sailors and those wishing to learn. If you would like to find out more, please look further at our website or why not take the opportunity to visit and talk with the club manager or the clubs members. Frensham Pond is a club for all ages, all abilities and all seasons.

  • DSC_0133.jpg
  • Jetty_1.jpg
  • Cadet_sailing_-_22_Feb_20_cropped.jpg
  • PM_racing_-_22_Feb_20_2.jpg
  • FP4.jpg
  • Lark_Open_-_11_Oct_20_7.jpg
  • imagea.jpg
  • 27191829317_f284f5014d_o.jpg
  • Unknown-4.jpeg
  • IMG_2661.jpg
  • aDSC_1127_smaller.jpg
  • DSC_0659_smaller.jpg
  • IMG_0115.jpg
  • P1050113.jpg
  • IMG_6045.jpg
  • Frensham_Sailing_HQ_Photo-240.jpg
  • Frensham_Sailing_HQ_Photo-408.jpg
  • Frensham_Sailing_HQ_Photo-49.jpg
  • Lark_Open_-_11_Oct_20_3.jpg
  • Lark_Open_-_11_Oct_20_4.jpg
  • FPSC_Cadet_Open_-_Oct_20_3.jpg
  • FPSC_Cadet_Open_-_Oct_20_7.jpg
  • dscf5744_29303698987_o.jpg
  • P3240050.jpg
  • 121284233_10219893185894963_4943625952130845175_o.jpg
  • DSC_0427.jpg
  • FP1.jpg
  • P1080320.jpeg
  • Frensham_Sailing_HQ_Photo-1.jpg
  • Unknown-3.jpeg

May Knott Trophy – Monday 7th May 2012

Don’t forget that the races on bank holiday Monday are for the May Knott Trophy.

The trophy was presented in 1982 by C.Draper for the May Day Holiday Racing. There are two races, a handicap race starting at 11:30am and a pursuit race with the first boat start at 1:27pm.

The trophy will be awarded at the Winter prize-giving on 9th June 2012.

Solo Open Meeting - 29th April 2012

It was wild and windy for the 33rd Solo Open at Frensham Pond. The Pond is renowned for its shifting winds and it lived up to its reputation as the four races were held in very different conditions. Only eleven sailors entered the event, of which five were visitors; but this was not surprising given the overnight gales and driving rain.

Race Officer Jeremy Hudson got all races underway promptly choosing a short start line in each case and with the pin end close to the shore.

Race one started amid huge gusts and white crests topping the chop. It was also very cold and wet. Home club, and former National Solo Champion, Keith Videlo is at home in these conditions and he ran out an easy winner ahead of Frensham's Solo Fleet Captain, Simon Lomas-Clarke. Videlo didn't have it all his own way in the second race, as a capsize and a penalty turn cost him dearly and Hamble River SC’ James Ross took the honours.

During the short break for lunch the wind shifted 90 degrees to the south and it became much warmer and the wind died away. Keith Videlo didn't hang around and he led from start to finish and won by a massive margin. The wind freshened in the last race and squalls and shifts were frequent. Frensham's Tim Deacon sailed well and hung on to win the race from a closing Keith Videlo.

Frensham's Commodore, Jeff Dolton, presented the prizes and thanked all those who had turned up and braved the conditions. Thanks also went to Frensham's Fleet Captain for organising the day, the race team for their fortitude and the galley crew for feeding cold, wet and hungry sailors.

Results of the Frensham Pond Open Meeting

1st 4369 Frensham Pond Keith Videlo
2nd 5129 Frensham Pond Tim Deacon
3rd 5281 Hamble River SC James Ross
4th 4800 Frensham Pond Simon Lomas-Clarke
5th 5167 Chipstead SC Peter Curl
6th 4400 Spinnaker SC Jonathan Moon
7th 4670 Frensham Pond James Hewitt
8th 3061 Chipstead SC Robert Trend
9th 4120 Chipstead SC Andrew Thompson
10th 5083 Frensham Pond Jeff Dolton
11th 3746 Frensham Pond Graham Douglas


Cadet Open Meeting – 21st April 2012

Sunshine and showers and a breeze that varied in direction through the day from zero to eight knots. All this was tackled cheerfully by 44 entrants to the Frensham annual Cadet open. Seven different sailing clubs took part of which fifteen crews were visitors. The four race series went largely without a hitch despite a complete failure of the breeze for parts of the third race.

A definite group of front runners dominated the day regardless of conditions. In particular a tight contest was fought out between Matt Shorrock and Ryan Wilkinson of Frensham and Alex Corby and Robert Keen of Fishers Green SC. The final race concluded in a tie break both crews being level on points. The trophy though went to Alex and Robert who had one more first place. The wind shifts tended to favour the crews from inland waters and though the fleet was well spread out the standard of sailing was good from boat handling to tactical moves which did not always work.

After the final race Alex said. “It’s been a good days sailing and the race officer did a good job. It was tight racing right to the end.”

At the prize giving Frensham Commodore Jeff Dolton thanked all who had travelled distances to be at the event. He gave special praise to Andy and Kate Shorrock who had done such a fine job as Cadet class leaders for the last four years. Special thanks went to race officer Chris Ellis for setting the courses for four races in difficult conditions and a special vote of thanks to galley manager Sala for feeding all eighty eight competitors and a huge following of families and friends. Safety, important in such a contest, was well organised by Iain Philpott and his team though no incidents occurred.


1st: 9000 Alex Corby & Robert Keen – Fishers Green 
2nd: 8352 Matthew Shorrock & Ryan Wilkinson – Frensham 
3rd: 9390 Alex Philpott & Megan Ferguson – Frensham 
4th: 8513 Jack Hardie & Archie Somers Frensham 
5th: 9754 Ollie Fitzgerald & Laura Hardie – Frensham 
1st girl: 8415 Joise Gummer - Fishers Green 
Under 14: Ben Shorrock & Beatrice Sexton – Frensham 
Endeavour: Emily Lawrence & Jessica Pearson – Frensham 
Unlucky 13th: 9208: Sam Wrankmore & Toby Slump – Frensham


The Clubhouse Ttophy – 14th April 2012

It was victory for Jack Hardie in his Cadet in the annual Clubhouse Trophy Pursuit Race which attracted thirty one entrants. Keith Videlo was second in a Solo and Alex Philpott, also in a Cadet, was third.

The Clubhouse Trophy results

Position Name  Boat  Sail No.  Elapsed Time 
1st Jack Hardie Cadet  8513 01:17:15
2nd Keith Videlo Solo  4369 01:18:21
3rd Alex Philpott Cadet  9390 01:19:24
4th Justin Philipps Phantom  1299 01:19:30
5th Helen McHale Europe  349 01:20:09
6th Colin Hammond Rooster 8.1  367 01:24:00
7th David Hutley Phantom  1297 01:24:42
8th Unknown Cadet  9302 01:25:16
9th Unknown Unknown  101 01:26:31
10th Unknown 2.4mR  36 01:27:07
11th N Cook 2.4mR  82 01:27:12
12th Rob Anstey Laser  133480 01:29:28
13th Douglas Brett Laser 4.7  186670 01:20:42
14th M Horne Laser Radial  63694 01:30:44
15th Unknown Laser 4.7  180340 01:30:46
16th Matt Y Laser 4.7  155162 01:33:44
17th Alison Jones Laser 4.7  160361 01:36:16
DNF Unknown Cadet  8854  
DNF Jess D’Arcy Cadet  9400  
DNF Tony Goodall 2.4mR  50  
DNF M Carruthers 2.4mR  53  
DNF Brian Grimwood 2.4mR  63  
DNF Paul Phillips 2.4mR  3  
DNF Unknown 2.4mR  37  
DNF Unknown 2.4mR  96  
DNF Unknown 2.4mR  28  
DNF Unknown 2.4mR  55  
DNF Ian Cherrill Laser Radial  174451  
DNF Unknown Laser  157569  
DNF Nick Hudson Laser  160725  
DNF Ian Swaddling Phantom  1353  

Forthcoming Events

Race Programme