Results for RS200 Open Meeting 2007

This was an event of contrasts. 9 teams took part on Saturday 3rd in a highly successful training and coaching day. This was in ideal weather; with warm sunshine and a good south westerly breeze.

The race day, Sunday 4th was held in continuous driving rain with a breeze that had moved south overnight. 14 teams braved the difficult conditions in the 4 race series. This proved to be a benefit day for top local helm Roger Gilbert crewed by Jane Willan. Roger with four straight wins hardly needed the one race discard.

Race 1. Colin & Aaron Smith made a flying start, but were gradually overhauled by James Stewart crewed by Toby Lewis, and Roger Gilbert & Jane Willan. James held off Roger until the last lap when Roger had a flukey lap (according to James anyway) to take and hold the lead. Colin and Aaron capsized, as did Katrina Gilbert crewed by Jenny Rust allowing Simon Gillow & Emma Harniman through to 3rd place.

Race 2. Keith & Steph Videlo led the fleet around the first mark, and with the exception of Roger who passed them early in the second lap, held on to a very comfortable second place. James, with Katrina and Colin had a very good battle, taking it in turn to lead the chasing pack, but eventually it settled in James’ favour.

Race 3. Roger and Colin had an early tussle, with Roger just about coming up on top. Roger went on to win, but having never got clear away, appeared to give the rest of the fleet a chance on the last beat. So a fairly close finish ensued with Colin holding off Katrina in 2nd place.

Race 4. After a general recall, the fleet got away cleanly second time around with Roger and James leading the way. James kept up the pressure on Roger who didn’t buckle and went on to complete his clean sweep. James and Colin finished 2nd and 3rd respectively, to guarantee the same overall finishing positions.

Frensham are now planning to adopt RS200s as a main class well suited to their water. Details on the club website.

Roger Gilbert took possession of a fine new silver trophy. James Stewart of behalf of the visitors thanked the club for a good weekend’s racing. Club Commodore Nick Royse thanked Race Officer Bruce Hill and acknowledged the help of sponsors, Fatface for their support of the RS Class and presentation of prize vouchers

Jim Morley / Katrina Gilbert


Sailed:4, Discards:1, To count:3, Ratings:None, Entries:14, Scoring system:My scoring system

Rank SailNo Helm Crew Club R1 R2 R3 R4 Nett
1 1219 Roger Gilbert Jane Willan FPSC (1.0) 1.0 1.0 1.0 3.0
2 1203 James Stewart Toby Lewis Stokes Bay SC 2.0 3.0 (4.0) 2.0 7.0
3 1133 Colin Smith Aaron Smith Papercourt (5.0) 5.0 2.0 3.0 10.0
4 37 Katrina Gilbert Jenny Rust FPSC 4.0 4.0 3.0 (6.0) 11.0
5 1147 Simon Gillow Emma Harniman Wembley SC 3.0 (8.0) 5.0 4.0 12.0
6 984 Nigel Harniman Ian Gill Wembley SC (8.0) 6.0 7.0 8.0 21.0
7 884 Neil Hardie Jack Hardie FPSC (9.0) 7.0 8.0 7.0 22.0
8 894 Keith Videlo Steph Videlo FPSC 6.0 2.0 (DNC) DNC 23.0
9 537 Clive Eplett Nick Butcher FPSC 7.0 11.5 6.0 (15.0 DNF) 24.5
10 1164 Emma Johnson Freya Adams SCSC (15.0 DNF) 13.0 9.0 5.0 27.0
11 486 Richard Neall Sara Terry FPSC & Itchenor (11.0) 10.0 11.0 9.0 30.0
12 639 Stefan Bennett Richard Taylor FPSC (15.0 RAF) 9.0 12.0 10.0 31.0
13 599 Mike Redpath John Marriott FPSC 10.0 14.0 10.0 (15.0 DNF) 34.0
14 582 Ian Senior Anna Starkey Itchenor (15.0 DNF) 11.5 DNC DNC 41.5

Sailwave Scoring Software 1.93 Build 3